Top 7 Things to do While in Venice, Italy

Venice-Piazza-San-Marco-5[1]

I reposted this blog from the Dauntless Jaunter as I think it provides good advice and reflects my own visits.

I have been to Venice three times in my life.  The first time was the summer of 1977 when (at the age of 15) I was traveling with a school group.  We were only there for one night and my memories are of the squalid youth hostel, the stench from the canals and from the tourists, and the heat of an Italian summer.  Overall, not a pleasant memory.

My next visit was over thirty years later.  The days after Carnevale.  Although most of the madness was over, decorations were still up and there were still a few revelers in costumes ready to have their pictures taken.  Without tourists around every corner, one could easily catch vaporettos without waiting and wandering the city was an adventure.  The weather was very wet and there was an “Acqua Alta” one morning (not a serious one but significant enough that the gangways were up in Piazzo San Marco).

My third visit was to celebrate a friend’s 60th birthday.  That November visit was magical.  The chill, crisp air brought a clarity to the decrepitude that made it even more special. And even though it was freezing to stand outside on the back deck of a vaporetto, I couldn’t help myself.  The beautiful buildings along the grand canal, the majesty of Santa Maria della Salute, the smell of the diesel, and the alternating roar and quiet of the engines as we made a stop; that memory will stay with me all my life.  Like me, Lydia is one of those “I can sleep when I’m dead” travelers so the last trip also included visits to Murano and Burano as well as a lot of walking, shopping and eating in Venice proper.

It is a cliché, but there is no other city even remotely similar to Venice.  When it comes to travel, I am typically a planner with a schedule for most days (especially in cities that offer many activities).  But Venice is one of those places where I rip up the list.  I reposted this blog from the Dauntless Jaunter as I think it provides good advice and reflects my own visits.

Leave a Reply

